Originally formed as the monument Committee by founder Mr. Jim Davis to raise funds for completion of the monument, the role of the Monument Services Committee's, as it is now known, is to organise the annual service of commemoration, and to ensure continued recognition of the monument into the future.

To achieve this they work in close collaboration with Plymouth City Council who have now taken ownership of the monument, and who are  responsible for it's care and  maintenance


Officers of the Monument

Jim Davis OPR


Air Vice Marshal Christopher Morris CB.


Vice Presidents
Air Vice Marshal Garry Tunnicliffe  CVO. MA. BA. DIP. loD. MAPM. RAF.

Mrs. Noreeen Strickland Cooper

Mrs. Joyce Shrubbs  MBE.

Mr. Douglas Taylor


Past Presidents

A.C.M. Sir Michael Graydon  GCB. CBE. ADC. FRAeS.

A.C.M.  Sir Michael Stear KCB. CBE. DL. MA. FRAeS


Past First Vice Presidents

A.C.M Sir John Allison  KCB CBE ADC FRAeS

A.C.M. Sir Peter Squire  KCB DFC AFC ADC


The Lord Mayor of Plymouth



Wing Cmdr. Francis Reis RAFAC

Mrs Sophie Forbes

Mrs. Pat Marshall

Mr. Peter Chapman